Web guide for World Literature EN3000/HUM3000
BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology. Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .
Open Courseware for Humanities Classes Do you need some extra help in your Humanities classes? Get videos and lectures from the world's leading universities from this database of open courseware. This database provides the public insight to all the free high quality college level courses across a vast amount of programs. Students and the educators are able to access the database along with many featured resouces on the site. It is noncommercial and available for anyone. Updated yearly.
- Aeneid of Virgil
The John Dryden (Harvard Classics) translation of the great Latin epic.
- Dictionary of Symbolism
Explanations for commonly used symbolism in literature. Searchable.
- Epic of Gilgamesh
Timothy R. Carnahan's electronic edition of M. G. Kovacs' translation of the 11 Akkadian tablets of this most ancient of epics.
- Internet Classics Archive
The more famous and some lesser known authors of Greek and Roman literature, as well as a few Chinese and Persian works. One can also see other readers' opinions and thoughts on the works and respond to them or post one's own. A search engine is provided.
- Internet Shakespeare Editions
The Internet Shakespeare Editions present this extensive site on Shakespeare's life and times.
A free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. Browse by author, title, or search the database by author, title, or reading level. Many selections can be downloaded directly into iTunes or your Mp3 player. You can also read the stories online.
- Literary Criticism Collection
The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
- Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century and Restoration and 18th Century literary texts. Entries for each author include: works, biography, criticism, quotations and links. Texts are from The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 6th ed.
- Online Medieval & Classical Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization. Searchable by author, title, and genre.
- Open Source Shakespeare
"An experiment in literary technology. Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free website containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind."
- Other Women's Voices : Translations of women's writings before 1700
This website compliles translations of over 125 women writers, "women who produced a substantial amount of work before 1700." Each entry contains background on the author and that particular work, useful secondary sources and Internet sites.
- Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources for the study of Ancient Greece and Rome, Germanic cultures, Arabic cultures, the Renaissance and 19th Century American literature. Includes the full text of well-known books, philological tools, maps, and illustrated art catalogs. Searchable.
- Poetry Foundation
Contains a vast amount of information on poetry and poets including search tool for poetry, reading guide and online journal, and provides many resources for events related to poetry.
- Project Gutenberg
Free eBooks - Digitized books in the Public Domain. Lots of Classics!
- Representative Poetry Online
"The second version of Representative Poetry On-line includes over 2,000 English poems by 310 poets from the early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century." Poems are indexed and can be browsed by poet name, date, or title.
- Resources for the study of Beowulf
Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter. The links are provided for your information and convenience only. Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites. If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk. Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.
Call Number: PA4025 .A5 F34 1996
The Arabian Nights
How to read literature like a professor