This is the "Welcome" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/tucson_nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Department Chair

Dr. Esperanza Joyce

ejoyce@brownmackie.edu

 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 
 

Journals and Magazines

Print (In-Library):

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy

 Online:

Connect: the World of Critical Care Nursing

Journal of Community Nursing

Journal of Nursing Student Research

Nursing Research & Practice

Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

 Also check our A-Z of Online Journal Titles in the online library.

 

New Book Titles

Cover Art
Motivational Interviewing in Nursing Practice - Michelle A. Dart
Call Number: RT86.3.d37 2011
ISBN: 9780763773854

Cover Art
Introduction to Nursing Research - Boswell/Cannon
Call Number: RT81.5.I5844 2011
ISBN: 9780763776152

Cover Art
Trauma: My Life as an Emergency Surgeon - Dr. James Cole
Call Number: BIO COLE COL
ISBN: 9780312552220
Publication Date: 2011

 

Available in the Library

Application of nursing process and nursing diagnosis. Call Number: RT41 .D54 2008

Blueprints clinical procedures. Call Number: RC48 .M37 2004

Clinical ethics: a practical approach to ethical decisions in clinical medicine. Call Number: R724 .J66 2006

Complete guide to symptoms, illness & surgery. Call Number: RC81 .G834 2006

Ebersole and Hess' gerontological nursing & healthy aging. Call Number: RC954 .G455 2010

Hole's human anatomy & physiology. Call Number: QP34.5 .S49 2007

Pearson nurse's drug guide 2011. Call number: RM125 N78 2011

Safeguarding children in primary health care. Call number: RJ101 .S25 2009

Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary. Call Number: R121 .T18 2009

 

NurseZone - Student Nurse News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Medical Databases

Students, logon to your student portal and click the "Library" link for access to these databases.

Faculty, logon to the Faculty Online Library at onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu.

Choose: Find by Resource>All Resources, then choose your database or group of databases.

 

A-Z of Online Journal Titles--Use this tool to browse the list of journals available in our online collections or to locate a specific journal title in our databases.   

The Cochrane Library--Independent high-quality evidence for health care decision making.

ICE Video Library --The ICE Video Library provides professionally filmed visual resources to support allied health programs, especially the fields of physical therapy and occupational therapy. Actual patients and therapists are captured on the videos in a variety of treatment settings such as acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU.

Learning Express Library--Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Literati by Credo--Literati by Credo Database is an online tool designed to make your research faster and more efficient.  With a multi-disciplinary topic base, It’s great for overviews of almost any subject, definitions of complex or scholarly terms and images from several reference sources.  In effect, it is your reliable alternative to Internet searching.  Literati now also features an Anatomy and Physiology Video Collection, with films that are short but very informative.

 Virtual Training Company--Provides tutorials in QuickTime and Flash formats for programs related to animation, audio, business applications, graphics & page layout, Web development, multimedia, video, and much more.   For username and password, please visit the News & Announcements section on the library portal homepage or stop by the library.

EBSCOHost Databases

Academic Search Complete--Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present.  Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies. 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text--Provides a focus on nursing and allied health with access to 760 full-text journals and 275 full-text books dating to 1937.  Also includes 130 evidence-based care sheets and 170 quick lessons providing disease and treatment overviews.

Consumer Health Complete--Coverage on topics including aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, and more through full-text health reference books, encyclopedias, health reports, consumer health pamphlets, and leaflets.  Also includes medical images and diagrams and over 2,000 Health Daily videos from NBC Digital Health Network. 

eBook Academic Collection--Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more.  Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

eBook Community College Collection--Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges.  The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

GreenFILE--Full-text access to more than 9,100 records connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.  Popular topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

Mental Measurements with Full Text--Guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments related to psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Points of View Reference Center--Presents topic overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument) for topics including abortion, censorship, global issues, human rights, medicine and ethics, national debate topics, substance abuse, war and peace, and more.  Offers 1,300 main essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.  Provides Guide to Critical Analysis to aid in evaluation. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)-Offers560 full-text journals relating to fields of psychology and behavioral sciences.  Subjects covered include:  anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimentalmethods, psychiatry and psychology, and more. 

Subject Related Websites

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

Open Courseware

Online Nursing Courseware. Do you need some extra help in your Nursing classes?  Get videos and lectures from the world's leading universities from this database of open courseware.  This database provides the public insight to all the free high quality college level courses across a vast amount of programs.  Students and the educators are able to access the database along with many featured resouces on the site.  It is noncommercial and available for anyone.  Updated yearly.

Organizations and Networking Opportunities

NurseJournal.org is a social networking community for nurses worldwide.  It is the ideal publishing platform for nursing students and professionals because NurseJournal.org feels all nurses have the potential to be authors! Each nurse can make wonderful contributions to the body of nursing literature & websites whether they are a staff nurse, educator, manager, or even a student. Their perspective can help others gain insights into this profession. It can also greatly improve their chances of a securing a new career position.  Formed 9 years ago the site has since been revamped to help students and professionals get their work published for free and to help them promote their social media and authorship rank. NurseJournal.org has received an enormous amount of social praise for many of their articles thus far.

General Reference

Dictionary from Medline Plus

RxList - The Internet Drug Index

Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine

PubMed

Licensure & Regulatory Bodies

Arizona State Board of Nursing

Nurse Practice Act (AZ)

NCSBN (National Council on State Boards of Nursing)

Anatomy and Physiology

Anatomy Atlases A digital library of anatomy information.

Human Anatomy Online Illustrates and describes anatomical systems. Includes animation and graphics.

The Human Heart (Franklin Institute) Discusses development and structure; history of heart science.

Muscle Atlas (University of Washington)

The Whole Brain Atlas (Harvard Medical School)

Health Care Management

America's Health Rankings This annual ranking analyses national health on a state-by-state basis.

Statehealthfacts.org Provides free and current health data on all 50 states. Topics include: health status, health coverage and uninsured, Medicaid and CHIP, health costs and budget, managed care and health insurance, providers and service use, minority health, women's health and HIV/AIDS.

National Center of Health Statistics (NCHS) NCHS is a division of the Center for Disease Control and is one of the primary collectors of health and vital statistics.

Health Care System Profiles Surveys of industrialized countries' health care systems: how they organize, finance and deliver health services.

WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) Provides core health statistics for the World Health Organization's 193 member states.

National Health Policy Forum Aims to educate congressional and federal agencies' staff on significant health issues.

Human Diseases/Pathophysiology

Center for Disease Control: Diseases & Conditions

National Institutes of Health Includes information on diseases and conditions, as well as anatomy and physiology.

 

      
     

    Disclaimer

    Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

    Privacy and Cookies Policy
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip