This is the "Welcome" page of the "Graphic Design Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graphic Design Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/tucson_graphicDesign Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 
 

Journals and Magazines

Print:

Communication Arts

How

Online:

International Journal of Design

Working Papers in Art & Design

Also check our A-Z of Online Journal Titles link in the online library

 

New Book Titles

Cover Art
Starting your Career as a Freelance Web Designer - Neil Tortorella
Call Number: TK5105.888.T67 2011
ISBN: 9781581158595
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The business side of creativity : a complete guide to running a small graphic design or communications business - Cameron S. Foote illustrated by Mark Bellerose.
ISBN: 039373207X

Cover Art
Logo Design Love - David Airey
Call Number: NC1002.L63.A37 2010
ISBN: 9780321660763

 

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

Databases

For access to these databases, please logon to you student or faculty portal.

Faculty Members Please login at https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students, please login through the student portal at http://my.brownmackie.edu

  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present. Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies.
  • AP Images
    Provides access to over 12 million photographs dating to 1826. Also contains approximately 36,000 sound bits and a professionally produced collection of more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, and illustrations.
  • Art Source
    Considered an art super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson. This resource provides 630 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and over 63,000 images. This resource includes international coverage, art reproduction records, and museum podcasts on artists and works of art.
  • Associates Programs Source Plus
    Designed for the research needs of two-year colleges and relevant associates programs with 2,000 full-text journals and 350 full-text books covering programs including culinary arts, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, photography, and more.
  • eBook Academic Collection
    Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
  • eBook Community College Collection
    Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
  • Humanities Source
    Considered a humanities super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson. This resource provides 1,400 full-text journals as well as interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more. Subject coverage in this resource includes: archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and others.
  • OmniFile Full Text MEGA
    Formerly a Wilson database, this resource is more robust than the previous subscribed OmniFile Full Text Select, with over 3,100 full-text publications dating to 1994 and over 500 podcasts and videos on a range of art, humanities, and science subjects. Covers core subjects including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

Subject Related Websites

Open Courseware for Web Design Do you need some extra help in your web design classes?  Get videos and lectures from the world's leading universities from this database of open courseware.  This database provides the public insight to all the free high quality college level courses across a vast amount of programs.  Students and the educators are able to access the database along with many featured resouces on the site.  It is noncommercial and available for anyone.  Updated yearly.

About.com Graphic Design Blog  Graphic Design Guide.

All Graphic Design News A blog which focuses on the fields of graphic design and web design.  

Design Talk Board  Graphic design resources, industry news, designers forums.

Typographic checklist from Fonts.com

How Magazine  Design ideas at work.

  • Ex Libris
    The official site of the American Society of Bookplate Collectors and Designers. Join in, get ideas, be inspired!
 

Graphic Design News Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Disclaimer

Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

 

Department Chair

Ric Nielsen

Office: 520-319-3355

rnielsen@brownmackie.edu

 

 

Available in the Library

500 digital illustrations : hints, tips, and techniques / compiled by Luke Herriott ; contributing authors Hannah Gal...[et al.].  Call Number: T385 2009

Cascading style sheets: the designer's edge / Molly E. Holzschlag. Call Number: TK5105.888 .H6516 2003

Bold visions : a digital painting bible: for fantasy and science fiction artists / Gary Tonge.  Call Number: T385 .T66 2008

How to see, how to draw : keys to realistic drawing / Claudia Nice. Call Number: NC730 .N53 2010

Managing the design process--concept development : an essential manual for the working designer / Terry Lee Stone. Call Number: NC1001 .S76 2010

The non-designers design book : design and typographic principles for the visual novice / Robin Williams.  Call Number: Z246 .W634 2008

Thinking with type : a critical guide for designers, writers, editors, & students / Ellen Lupton. Call Number: Z246 .L87 2010

Visual language for designers : principles for creating graphics that people understand / Connie Malamed. Call Number: NC997 .M24 2009  

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip