This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science   Tags: environmental_science, general_ed  

Subject guide for Environmental Science BI1850/SCI1850
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/tucson_environmental_sci Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 

Here are some keywords to try (you can combine them for more precise results):
Agriculture, food, farming
Climate change
Ecology
Energy policy
Environmental policy
Fossil fuels
Genetically modified foods
Geology
Green business
Renewable energy
Sustainable, Sustainability
Water

Tucson-related Websites

  • Watershed Management Group
    Watershed Management Group (WMG) develops community-based solutions to ensure the long-term prosperity of people and health of the environment.
  • Green Infrastructure Resources
    Includes Tucson washes and subwatersheds maps (scroll down for maps)
  • Harvesting Rainwater
    Guiding principles to welcome rain into your life and landscape
  • Technicians for Sustainability
    A Tucson-based, locally owned company specializing in renewable energy and sustainable technologies
  • Sonoran Permaculture Guild
    Using ecology as the basis for designing integrated systems
  • Sustainable Tucson
    A non-profit, grass-roots organization that builds regional resilience and sustainability through awareness raising, community engagement and public/private partnerships
  • Native Seeds/SEARCH
    Native Seeds/SEARCH conserves, distributes and documents the adapted and diverse varieties of agricultural seeds, their wild relatives and the role these seeds play in cultures of the American Southwest and northwest Mexico.

Videos

 

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

 

Environmental Science Databases

Logon to your student or faculty portal for access to this EBSCOHost Database

GreenFILE--Full-text access to more than 9,100 records connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.  Popular topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

Websites

  • Agriculture and Soil
  • Sustainable Table
    The Sustainable Table web site offers a helpful explanation of soils and their contents.
  • National Soil Erosion Research Laboratory
    The NSERL is the U.S.’s research arm for understanding, controlling, and preventing soil erosion.
  • United States Salinity Laboratory
    An excellent source of information. It includes a FAQ about salinity topics in agriculture.
  • Biodiversity
  • Earth Trends: The Environmental Information Portal
    Click on particular biomes or ecosystems to learn more about their locations and the threats to them.
  • WWF Wildfinder
    Online database of species distributions
  • Environmental Literacy Council
    This Environmental Literacy Council page provides accessible information on desert environments and links to other helpful sites.
  • Desert USA
    This online magazine includes loads of information about the desert ecosystems of the United States.
  • Frogwatch
    A citizen science program that allows individuals and families to learn about the wetlands in their communities and help conserve amphibians by reporting the calls of local frogs and toads.
  • Climate Change
  • Union of Concerned Scientists
    The UCUSA web site offers an argument for addressing the growing threat of global warming, as well as resources for learning more about it.
  • National Science Foundation
  • Dept. of Energy Carbon Sequestration
    Find out how the U.S. government is working with industry to study carbon sequestration.
  • A Closer Look at Global Warming
    This National Academies of Science site examines the phenomenon of global warming.
  • Conservation
  • National Parks Conservation Association
    Site provides information on US national parks and campaigns to protect these natural, historic and cultural treasures.
  • Ecological Society of America Fact Sheets
    Fact sheets explain ecological issues, define terms and concepts, and provide references for additional information.
  • Nature Conservancy
    Non-profit organization created to protect Earth's natural resources and beauty.
  • Pollution
  • Acid Rain
    This is the home page for this U.S. EPA program. It has quite a bit of information about the effects of sulfur dioxide emissions on ecosystems.
  • Toxic Air Pollutants
    Provides information about air toxics in the United States. You can find out how much air toxic pollution is in the air, the cause of the pollution, and what the EPA is doing to reduce it.
  • EPA: Search your Community
    Allows you to search by zip code to learn more about pollution issues and water quality in your area.
  • Surface and Groundwater
    The EPA site on groundwater and agriculture runoff is a good place to start investigating this problem.
  • Water
  • Water Resources of the United States
    A USGS site with descriptions of USGS activities, real-time hydrologic data ("from the stream to your screen"), online informational brochures, and lots of links.
  • American Rivers
    Homepage of a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting and restoring America's rivers.
  • Population Growth
  • United Nations Population Information Network
    Find out the populations of countries, cities, refugee camps, and more at this United Nations site.
  • Population Pyramid Summary
    You can obtain population pyramids (age structure diagrams) for any country on this site.
 

Disclaimer

Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip