This is the "Welcome" page of the "Computer Networking and IT Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Networking and IT Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/tucson_IT Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 
 

Journals and Magazines

Print (In-Library):

2600: Hacker Quarterly

eCampus News

EduCause

Make: Technology on Your Time

MIT Technology Review

Online:

Computerworld

Information Technology Journal

Journal of Computing and Information Technology

PC World

 

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

Databases

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members Please login at https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students, please login through the student portal at http://my.brownmackie.edu

  • VTC online training
    Login username and password required. Login to the online library homepage for the correct username and password.

    Online instruction for practically all computer software, networking and hardware.
  • Literati by Credo
    Literati is an online tool designed to make your research faster and more efficient.
  • Learning Express Library
    Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
  • EBSCOHost Databases
    Logon to these databases through your student of faculty portal.
  • A-Z Online Journal Titles
    Use this tool to browse the list of journals available in our online collections or to locate a specific journal title in our databases.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present. Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies.
  • eBook Academic Collection
    Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
  • eBook Community College Collection
    Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
  • GreenFILE
    Full-text access to more than 9,100 records connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Popular topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
  • OmniFile Full Text MEGA
    Formerly a Wilson database, this resource is more robust than the previous subscribed OmniFile Full Text Select, with over 3,100 full-text publications dating to 1994 and over 500 podcasts and videos on a range of art, humanities, and science subjects. Covers core subjects including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

Subject Related Websites

Online Courseware

Online Computer Science CoursesOnline Information Technology CoursesOnline Web Design Courses. Do you need some extra help in your Computer Science, IT & Web Design classes?  Get videos and lectures from the world's leading universities from this database of open courseware.  This database provides the public insight to all the free high quality college level courses across a vast amount of programs.  Students and the educators are able to access the database along with many featured resouces on the site.  It is noncommercial and available for anyone.  Updated yearly.

Dictionaries
Webopedia Computer and internet technology definitions.
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
FOLDOC (Free Online Dictionary of Computing)

History of Computers
Computer History Museum
The History of Computing

Tech News
CNET News
PC World Magazine

Tutorials/How-to
W3Schools
Online Web Tutorials

Google Code University

      
     

    Disclaimer

    Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

     

    Department Chair

    Diane Anderson

    Director of Faculty Management

    (520)321-3241

    jdanderson@brownmackie.edu

    Arnold Bianco

    Director of Faculty Development

    (520)319-3354

    abianco@brownmackie.edu

     

     

    Available in the Library

    Cisco routers for the small business : a practical guide for IT professionals / Jason C. Neumann.  Call Number: TK5105.543 .N48 2009 

    CompTIA Security+  Study Guide / Mike Pastor & Emmett Dulany. Call Number: QA76.3 .P37 2006 

    A history of modern computing / Paul E. Ceruzzi. Call Number: QA76.17 .C47 2003

    The illustrated network : how TCP/IP works in a modern network / Walter Goralski.   Call Number: TK5105.585 .G664 2009 

    Linux firewalls / Robert L. Ziegler. Call Number: TK5105.59 .B466 2007 

    P2P networking and applications / John F. Buford, Heather Yu, Eng Keong Lua.   Call Number: TK5105.525 .K64 2009 

    Security in an IPv6 environment / Daniel Minoli, Jake Kouns.  Call Number: TK5105.59 .M56 2009 

    Privacy and Cookies Policy
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip