Search the Library Catalog
New Book Titles
What is Wikipedia?
General Education Databases
**You MUST be logged on to your student or faculty portal to access these EBSCOHost databases**
Academic Search Complete--Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present. Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies.
AP Images--Provides access to over 12 million photographs dating to 1826. Also contains approximately 36,000 sound bits and a professionally produced collection of more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, and illustrations.
Art Source--Considered an art super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson. This resource provides 630 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and over 63,000 images. This resource includes international coverage, art reproduction records, and museum podcasts on artists and works of art.
Associates Programs Source Plus--Designed for the research needs of two-year colleges and relevant associates programs with 2,000 full-text journals and 350 full-text books covering programs including culinary arts, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, photography, and more.
Biography Reference Center-- Contains top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines including Biography Today and Biography. Provides coverage of more than 600,000 individuals with over 2.2 million records. Narrative profiles average 3,000 words in length. Includes 35,000 images
Canadian Reference Centre--Provides a Canadian and international focus with over 1,100 full-text periodicals, 66,000 fulltext biographies, 502,000 images including photos, maps, and flags, and 86,000 images from the Canadian Press.
Communication & Mass Media Complete--Combining the resources of CommSearch (National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (Penn State), this database presents 500 full-text journals with coverage dating to 1915.
eBook Academic Collection--Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
eBook Community College Collection-- Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access. This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems. Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks.
GreenFILE--Full-text access to more than 9,100 records connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Popular topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Humanities Source--Considered a humanities super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson. This resource provides 1,400 full-text journals as well as interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more. Subject coverage in this resource includes: archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and others.
Literary Reference Center Plus--Fulfills literary needs with over 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, 89,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 258,000 author biographies, 774,500 book reviews, 113,800 classic and contemporary poems, 27,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 8,800 author interviews, 2,700 literary reference books, 900 literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos pertaining to classic works and authors.
Newspaper Source--Provides cover-to-cover full text of more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Added bonus of selective full text from more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers as well.
OmniFile Full Text MEGA--Formerly a Wilson database, this resource is more robust than the previous subscribed OmniFile Full Text Select, with over 3,100 full-text publications dating to 1994 and over 500 podcasts and videos on a range of art, humanities, and science subjects. Covers core subjects including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
Points of View Reference Center--Presents topic overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument) for topics including abortion, censorship, global issues, human rights, medicine and ethics, national debate topics, substance abuse, war and peace, and more. Offers 1,300 main essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Provides Guide to Critical Analysis to aid in evaluation.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection--Offers 560 full-text journals relating to fields of psychology and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, psychiatry and psychology, and more.
Subject Related Websites
Open Courseware for Humanities Classes. AND Open Courseware for Science Classes. Do you need some extra help in your Humanities or Science classes? Get videos and lectures from the world's leading universities from this database of open courseware. This database provides the public insight to all the free high quality college level courses across a vast amount of programs. Students and the educators are able to access the database along with many featured resouces on the site. It is noncommercial and available for anyone. Updated yearly.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations contains over 11,000 searchable quotations.
Free-Ed.net Click on courses - If you want to work on pre-algebra, go specifically to that section.
Free Rice Online games for English grammar, English vocabulary, basic math (pre-algebra) & multiplication tables.
Khan Academy Math and other subjects; audio and video - just click on a category or video.
Math Power This site provides information about basic math, algebra, study skills, math anxiety and learning styles and specifically addresses the needs of the community college adult learner.
Merriam-Webster Online Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Basic computer skills
Brown Mackie College Resource:
Student & Faculty Technology Resources website
Computer Tutorials (includes typing and sending emails):
AZ Daily Star Local News
Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter. The links are provided for your information and convenience only. Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites. If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk. Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.
Available in the Library
Basic math & pre-algebra for dummies / by Mark Zegarelli. Call Number: QA39.3 .Z44 2007
Doing honest work in college : how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success / Charles Lipson. Call Number: PN171 .F56 L56 2004
E-mail : a write it well guide : how to write and manage e-mail in the workplace / Janis Fisher Chan. Call Number: HE7551 .C43 2008
Grammatically correct : the essential guide to spelling, style, usage, grammar, and punctuation / Anne Stilman. Call Number: PE1112 .S748 2010
Basic math & pre-algebra for dummies / by Mark Zegarelli. Call Number: QA39.3 .Z44 2007
The nuts & bolts of college writing / Michael Harvey. Call Number: PE1408 .H3927 2003