This is the "English & Literature" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - English & Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - English & Literature  

A guide to library and information resources for English and Literature
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=459234 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

English & Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
The Drama 100 - Daniel S. Burt
ISBN: 9780816060740
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
A rich resource on 100 of the most important plays in literature. Which plays are truly great, and why? This unique reference profiles 100 of the greatest plays drawn from all cultures and periods of literature. Compiled in consultation with literary scholars, The Drama 100 is sure to engage students and theatergoers in a spirited discussion of literary values. The chosen plays include: *Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot *Anton Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard *Caryl Churchill's Cloud Nine *Henrik Ibsen's A Doll's House * Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman *William Shakespeare's Hamlet *Sophocles' Oedipus Tyrannos *August Wilson's Fences *Tang Xianzu's The Peony Pavilion *And many more. Each entry provides a plot summary and assessment, with an emphasis on details about the play's creation, critical reception, and contribution to literary and theatrical history. Additional features include a chronology, a list of honorable mentions ("A Second Hundred"), and an index.

Cover Art
War and Peace - Leo Tolstoy; Anthony Briggs (Translator); Orlando Figes (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9780143039990
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Set against the sweeping panoply of Napoleon's invasion of Russia, War and Peace--presented here in the first new English translation in forty years--is often considered the greatest novel ever written. At its center are Pierre Bezukhov, searching for meaning in his life; cynical Prince Andrei, ennobled by wartime suffering; and Natasha Rostov, whose impulsiveness threatens to destroy her happiness. As Tolstoy follows the changing fortunes of his characters, he crafts a view of humanity that is both epic and intimate and that continues to define fiction at its most resplendent. * Includes an introduction, note on the translation, cast of characters, maps, notes on the major battles depicted, and chapter summaries "The best translation so far of Tolstoy's masterpiece into English." -Robert A. Maguire, professor emeritus of Russian studies, Columbia University "In Tolstoy's work part of the translator's difficulty lies in conveying not only the simplicity but the subtlety of the book's scale and effect. . . . Briggs has rendered both with a particular exactness and a vigorous precision not to be found, I think, in any previous translation." -John Bayley, author of Elegy for Iris  

Cover Art
A Commonsense Guide to Grammar and Usage - Larry Beason; Mark Lester
ISBN: 9780312697792
Publication Date: 2011-11-24
"A Commonsense Guide to Grammar and Usage" is just what its name suggests: a straightforward, student-friendly grammar guide. The texts modular lessons break down complex grammatical concepts with plain-language explanations, handy tips, and visual examples that "show" -- rather than just "tell" -- students how to recognize, correct, and learn to avoid errors in grammar. With hundreds of exercises in the book and thousands more available online for free at "Exercise Central," students get ample practice finding and fixing errors in their writing. The text also includes writing coverage and brief documentation guides for MLA and APA, making it a useful reference for a variety of college courses. Read the preface.

Helpful Grammar Websites

  • Writing Guides (Colorado State University)
    Information about the writing process as well as guides for writing in business and writing in science.
  • Getting an A on an English Paper
    Advice on writing good English composition papers from a professor at Rutgers University. Includes links to other sites.
  • Guide to Grammar and Style
    Grammatical rules and explanations, comments on style, and suggestions on usage, organized alphabetically by topic.
  • Guide to Grammar and Writing
    Includes guides, quizzes and frequently asked questions about grammar and the writing process.
  • Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus
    Trusted name in print dictionary. Definitions and synonyms are given as well as examples of the word in context. Fun activities and quizzes are also available.
  • TheFreeDictionary.com
    The world's most comprehensive dictionary: English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, Dutch, Norwegian, Greek, Arabic, Polish, Turkish, Russian, Medical, Legal, and Financial Dictionaries, Thesaurus, Acronyms and Abbreviations, Idioms, Encyclopedia, a Literature Reference Library, and a Search Engine all in one!
  • The 5 Paragraph Essay Format (Temple University)
    Includes advice on the use of academic prose.
  • Writing Spaces
    An Open Source textbook project for college-level writing courses

Helpful Literature Websites

  • Modern Library 100 Best Novels
    The Modern Library is famous for the 100 Best polls for the best novels and nonfiction of the 20th century.
  • Top 100 Books of All Time
    In 2002, the editors of The Norwegian Book Clubs asked 100 authors from 54 countries to nominate ten books that, in their opinion, are the ten best and most central works in world literature. They then compiled a listing of the 100 most repeated.
  • Poem Hunter
    Information about poets and poems. Includes top 500 lists and has complete text of many of the poems.
  • NPR's Top 100 Science Fiction Books
    Voted on by listeners of NPR in 2011.
  • Mystery Books - Edgar Award winners
    Lists of Edgar Award winners and nominees by category through the years.

Learning Express Library in the Online Library

The Learning Express Library contains a number of general education resources including books and exercises in math and reasoning, public speaking, reading comprehension, statistics, vocabulary and spelling, and writing and grammar.  It has tutorials on many software products including Microsoft Word, Excel and Powerpoint.  It also has practice tests for the COMPASS as well as for a number of occupational certificatons.

However it is only accessible through the Online Library regardless of where you are!

For On- or Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

To access the The Learning Express Library:

  1. Log in to the onlne library through the links above.  If you are a student click on the LIBRARY button on you home page.
  2. Click on the button "Find by Resource"
  3. Select on "All Resources"
  4. Click on the "Learning Express Library" link

Once in the Learning Express Library:

  • You will need to register (it's free!).  Choose any username and password that you'll remember.
  • Once you are registered and have signed in you can choose the item(s) you'd like to use.
  • Popular Software Tutorials - tutorials for Word, Excel and Powerpoint.
  • Academic Skills for College Students - books and exercises for skill set building and reinforcement.
      
     

    General Education Chair

    Kevin Messer

    Email: kmesser@brownmackie.edu

    Phone: 859-486-2572

    Privacy and Cookies Policy
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip