This is the "Information Technology" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - Information Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - Information Technology  

A guide to library and informaton resources to support the Information Technology program
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=458974 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Information Technology Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
The Race for Perfect - Steve Hamm
ISBN: 9780071606103
Publication Date: 2008-09-24
Personal computing has reshaped economies and industries, and is transforming how we express ourselves and relate to one another. The most personal of personal computers are the portables. We carry these gadgets with us wherever we go, whether theye(tm)re laptops, smartphones, or the coolest new Web-surfing devices. The Race for Perfect tells the story of two generations of entrepreneurs, designers, and engineers as they have struggled to make ever-better portables. Steve Hamm takes the reader into a world where inspiration, design, engineering, and marketing come together to produce wave upon wave of the innovative products that we love to talk about and use. From the earliest days of portable computing, 40 years ago, entrepreneurs and designers have pushed forward relentlessly in a quest to create the perfect device. Their efforts have produced a few fabulous successes and many failures. But they never give up. Theye(tm)re driven by the basic rule of the tech industry: innovate or die. In addition to a fascinating read, The Race for Perfect offers valuable lessons for business people in any industry, revealing how they must INNOVATE constantly to differentiate their products CREATE design principles that are timeless INTEGRATE design and engineering so products are both useful and fun to use IMPROVE quality and convenience without compromise TAP social networks to turn customers into fans At the center of this tale is the story of a single product, Lenovoe(tm)s ThinkPad X300 laptop. Lenovo, the first Chinese company to seek to establish a global consumer brand, bought IBMe(tm)s PC division in 2005 primarily to get the companye(tm)s storied ThinkPad laptops. The X300 was conceived as a eoehaloe product that would draw customers to Lenovoe(tm)s entire line. Woven through The Race for Perfect is a case study of how this ambitious company, with teams in Japan, the United States, and China, marshaled its resources to pursue laptop perfection. As X300 came close to the finish line, it collided head-on with Applee(tm)s super-slim MacBook Aire"-with surprising results.

Cover Art
Understanding Database Administration - Pablo Berzukov
ISBN: 9781450500913
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
In the Information Technologies industry there are few domains less understood than Database Administration.People keep asking what are the responsibilities of a Database Administrator, what are the specific tasks and processes Database Administrators rely on to fulfill those responsibilities and, by which rules Database Administrators abide to deal with whatever they do.Some people ask those questions out of simple curiosity, others because they are in or close to a DBA role, others because they have to deal with DBAs in a user, developer, management, etc. capacity and, want to have a better understanding of the DBA world.Everyone has its own reasons to ask questions about the database administration world; questions are always the same.This book intends to answer those questions.This is a technology agnostic book meaning that it applies to the field of database administration in general rather than focusing on any specific database vendor technology in particular. Enjoy it.

Cover Art
3D Images of Materials Structures - Joachim Ohser; Katja Schladitz
ISBN: 9783527312030
Publication Date: 2009-10-12
Taking and analyzing images of materials and microstructures is essential for quality control, choice and design of all kind of products. Today, the standard method still is to analyze 2D microscopy images. But, insight into the 3D geometry of the microstructure of materials and measuring its characteristics become more and more prerequisites in order to choose and design advanced materials according to desired product properties. This first book on processing and analysis of 3D images of materials structures describes how to develop and apply efficient and versatile tools for geometric analysis and contains a detailed description of the basics of 3d image analysis.

Helpful Websites

  • IT Library
    The IT Library website has been designed as a free introductory level, online computer related website, providing tech tutorials on computer hardware, software, operating systems, Registry Cleaner and basic troubleshooting, IT glossary, IT certifications, online money making, and IT interview questions.
  • Computerworld
    For more than 40 years, Computerworld has been the leading source of technology news and information for IT influencers worldwide.
  • CNET
    CNET provides information, tools, and advice about technology products.
  • Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
    This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions.
  • Free Online Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)
    FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
  • Webopedia
    Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. Webopedia provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language, avoiding the use of heavy jargon when possible so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge.

Key Subject Databases in the Online Library

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students please login through the student portal at: http://mybrownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

      

    Information Technology Club

    IT Association will have a meeting

    Tues., Jan. 21 at 5:30 pm

    in the Computer Lab (Annex)

        
       

      Information Technology Chair

      Kevin Messer

      Email: kmesser@brownmackie.edu

      Phone: 859-486-2572

      Professional Websites

      Privacy and Cookies Policy
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip