This is the "Business & Accounting" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - Business and Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - Business and Accounting  

A guide to library and information resources for Business and Accounting students
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=458906 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Business & Accounting Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
Managing Across Cultures - Charlene Solomon; Michael S. Schell
ISBN: 9780071605854
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
Whether you run a giant corporation or work in a small business, it's more than likely that you regularly deal with people of different cultures "from customers and suppliers to salespeople and colleagues. It simply can't be overstated: You will have trouble succeeding in business today if you don't appreciate and know how to actively manage global cultural diversity. Managing Across Cultures examines why people around the world behave as they do and provides actionable tactics for succeeding in today's global business environment. Experts in the field of cross-cultural training, Michael Schell and Charlene Solomon describe seven readily recognizable behaviors and explain what they mean, how to interpret them, and most importantly, how to respond to them. Managing Across Cultures is filled with case studies illustrating the importance of understanding and dealing with cultural differences in all aspects of business. Youe(tm)ll learn how: Intele(tm)s powerful global corporateculture is a critical element of itshistoric success Colgate-Palmolive integratescultural understanding into itsglobal marketing programs GE adapts its effective management style to localbusiness cultures You'll also find out how underestimating cultural influence caused serious problems for organizations like Daimler Chrysler andWal-Mart. Managing Across Cultures takes you far beyond other books that simply catalog the customs, gestures, and language vagaries ofother cultures. This in-depth, strategic guide will help in every facet of businesse "from hiring and motivating employees to developing winning sales pitches and marketing campaigns.

Cover Art
Guerrilla Marketing in 30 Days - Jay Conrad Levinson; Al Lautenslager
ISBN: 9781599182667
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The Father of Guerrilla Marketing, Jay Conrad Levinson, and marketing master Al Lautenslager equip you with a winning 30-day plan to revolutionize your marketing without depleting your budget. Armed with a daily dose of proven guerrilla principles, and the latest tactics and tools, you can reach your marketing goals, jump-start your sales, and watch your profits soar.

Cover Art
Alpha Teach Yourself Bookkeeping in 24 Hours - Carol Costa
ISBN: 9781592576951
Publication Date: 2008-01-02
One day to bookkeeping success. Since many small businesses leave the all-important job of bookkeeping to someone on the staff with no training, there is a demand for this easy, authoritative how-to on the subject. Readers will find principles and procedures adapted to suit the needs of various types of business operations—from retail to entertainment to financial institutions.

Helpful Websites

  • Internal Revenue Service
    Official site that contains forms, publications, news and events as well as other topics of financial interest for individuals and businesses.
  • Federal Reserve Board
    The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. It influences the monetary and credit conditions in the economy, supervises and regulates banking institutions, and provides financial services to depository institutions, the U.S. government, and foreign official institutions.
  • National Bureau of Economic Research
    Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
  • Economics and Statistics Administration
    ESA (an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce) provides timely economic analysis, disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). ESA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events
  • U.S. Census
    The Census department provides quality data about the nation's people and economy. Scheudules for surveys vary by the data being collected.
  • EDGAR
    EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). 10-Ks (annual report information) and 10-Qs (quarterly filings) are among the reports available.
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
    The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    The United Nations division responsible for collecting and reporting on economic statistic, demographic and social statistics, and environment and energy statistics.
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis
    The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.
  • International Money Fund (IMF)
    The IMF promotes international monetary cooperation and exchange rate stability, facilitates the balanced growth of international trade, and provides resources to help members in balance of payments difficulties or to assist with poverty reduction.
  • Forbes  
      
    News and features from Forbes Magazine, a leading source for reliable business news and financial information.
  • Businessweek  
      
    A renowned business publication. Business news, trends and profiles of successful businesspeople.
  • The Economist  
      
    Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
  • Financial Times  
      
    The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis from the Financial Times on FT.com. You can view different versions of the site (UK, US, Asia, Europe, India, Middle East).
  • Wall Street Journal  
      
    Online version of the Wall Street Journal. May have limited access.

Key Subject Databases in the Online Library

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students please login through the student portal at: http://mybrownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

  • Mergent
    Provides access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock,financial statements, exchange and ticker symbol, statistics.

Business & Accounting Club

Organization Meetings:

1 p.m. and 5 p.m.

Room 108

Please join us!!

 

      
     

    Business & Accounting Chair

    Rhonda Webb

    Email: rwebb@brownmackie.edu

    Phone: 859-486-2542

    Professional Websites

    • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
      AICPA members represent many areas of practice, including business and industry, public practice, government, education and consulting. The AICPA sets ethical standards for the profession and U.S. auditing standards for audits of private companies, nonprofit organizations, federal, state and local governments. It develops and grades the Uniform CPA Examination and offers specialty credentials for CPAs who concentrate on personal financial planning; fraud and forensics; business valuation; and information technology.
    • Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)
      International accountancy body whose mission is to provide quality professional opportunities, promote high ethical and governance standards, and work in the public interest.
    • International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
      IFAC’s mission is to serve the public interest by: contributing to the development of high-quality standards and guidance; facilitating the adoption and implementation of high-quality standards and guidance; contributing to the development of strong professional accountancy organizations and accounting firms and to high-quality practices by professional accountants, and promoting the value of professional accountants worldwide; and speaking out on public interest issues.
    • American Woman's Society of Certified Public Accountants
      The American Woman's Society of Certified Public Accountants (AWSCPA) is a national organization dedicated to serving all women CPAs. The AWSCPA provides a supportive environment and valuable resources for members to achieve their personal and professional goals through various opportunities including leadership, networking and education.
    • Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
      SHRM provides resources, global best practices and a network of valuable contacts to more than 250,000 members in over 140 countries, in addition to U.S.-based HR professionals involved in global HR.
    • American Marketing Association
      AMA is the trusted go-to resource for marketers and academics. We are counted on as the most credible marketing resource where our members can stay relevant with knowledge, training and tools to enhance lifelong learning and obtain valuable information and connections.
    Privacy and Cookies Policy
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip