This is the "Allied Health" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - Allied Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - Allied Health  

A guide to library and information resources to support the Allied Health program
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=458812 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Allied Health Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
Medical Sociology - William C. Cockerham
ISBN: 9780136053101
Publication Date: 2008-12-29
The standard text in the field, this best-selling introduction to medical sociology presents the most recent and relevant ideas, concepts, themes, issues, debates, and research findings at the cutting-edge of the field. It contains first-person accounts from patients, physicians, and other health care providers; is based on a worldwide review of the literature; provides the most recent health statistics, data, and studies available; and identifies the most important trends and issues.For upper-division undergraduate/beginning graduate-level courses in Medical Sociology, and for Behavioral Science courses in schools of Public Health, Medicine, Pharmacy, and Nursing.

Cover Art
Legal and Ethical Issues in Health Occupations - Tonia Dandry Aiken
ISBN: 9781416022626
Publication Date: 2008-01-29
With balanced coverage of both legal and ethical issues, this text provides a foundation for handling common challenges in everyday practice. Real-life examples and case studies help you apply the book's concepts. For easier reading, content is presented in short, concise chunks. Expert author Tonia Aiken shares insights from her years of experience as a nurse, attorney, and public speaker to guide you through issues that may arise in practice, as well as the "danger zones" in clinical situations that could escalate into conflict or dispute. A user-friendly outline format makes information easy to scan. Objectives for each chapter highlight what you are expected to learn and keep you focused on important information. Summaries at the end of every chapter reinforce essential concepts. Study Questions test your knowledge of the material. Recommended Readings list sources for further research. What If? boxes present ethical dilemmas and help you apply concepts from the book to real-life examples. Updated Case Studies discuss the issues faced in a variety of healthcare settings. A revised Imaging Liability and Litigation chapter describes how society holds healthcare workers accountable in the workplace. Important HIPAA information includes the latest privacy guidelines along with ethical and legal implications.

Cover Art
Medical Billing and Coding Demystified - Marilyn Burgos; Donya Johnson; James Keogh
ISBN: 9780071472203
Publication Date: 2006-11-21
Clueless? Feel Like a Dummy? Get Demystified! This handy resource clearly explains the principles and practicesused by medical offices, hospitals, and health facilities to encodemedical services in order to receive payment from governmentagencies and insurance companies.

General Medical Reference Websites

Anatomy Websites

Medical Statistics Websites

  • America's Health Rankings
    An annual ranking of numerous factors that affect the health of the nation on a state-by-state basis.
  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
    The mission of the CDC is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
  • National Center for Health Statistics
    The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. The NCHS is a division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
  • StateHeatlhFacts.org
    Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics. The data are based on an analysis of the Census Bureau’s March Current Population Surveys and are restricted to the civilian (not active duty military) population. The state data represent 2-year averages.
  • The Commonwealth Fund
    The Commonwealth Fund is an organization that supports independent research on health care issues. Its International Health Policy Center surveys the health policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries.
  • Global Health Observatory
    Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. The aim of the GHO portal is to provide easy access to country data and statistics with a focus on comparable estimates and to WHO’s analyses that monitor global, regional and country situation and trends.
  • National Health Policy Forum
    Its mission is to educate Congress, its support agencies, and the executive branch of the federal government in order to improve the policymaking process on the nation's critical health issues
  • World Health Organization
    the Worls Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Key Subject Databases in the Online Library

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students please login through the student portal at: http://mybrownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

  • Cochrane Library
    A collection of databases containing evidence-based information, including systematic reviews.

Allied Health Club

Information coming soon!

      
     

    Allied Health Chair

    Jo Thompson

    Email: jethompson@brownmackie.edu

    Phone: 859-486-2576

    Professional Websites

    • American Association of Medical Assistants
      The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.
    • American College of Health Care Administrators
      Professional society for long term care, assisted living, and subacute care administrators.
    • American Academy of Medical Administrators
      To advance excellence in healthcare leadership through individual relationships, multi-disciplinary interaction, practical business tools and active engagement. Provides continuing education through annual management conferences, meetings, and trade shows.
    Privacy and Cookies Policy
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip