This is the "Nursing" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - Nursing  

BMC Northern Kentucky's guide to library and information sources for the Nursing program
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=458785 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Nursing Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
Your Symptoms Are Real - Benjamin H. Natelson
ISBN: 9780471740285
Publication Date: 2007-10-26
Praise for Your Symptoms Are Real "Thank God for this book. It provides the help that millions of Americans with 'silent illnesses' like chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia have been waiting for. Dr. Natelson is a brilliant and compassionate clinician who covers the best treatments that medical science has to offer, along with a thorough consideration of complementary approaches. Short of cloning him, this book offers the specific help you need to work in partnership with your own physician." --Joan Borysenko, Ph.D., author of Minding the Body, Mending the Mind "Natelson is the kind of doctor every patient is looking for: smart, thoughtful, empathetic, and supportive. Reading Your Symptoms Are Real is the next best thing to having a world-renowned specialist managing your case." --Charles W. Lapp, M.D., Director of the Hunter-Hopkins Center and Assistant Consulting Professor at Duke University Medical Center "Do not throw up your hands and give up when one doctor after another tells you there is nothing wrong with you--instead, read this book! Benjamin Natelson is the person you have been looking for to guide you on your path to recovery." --Sandra Blakeslee, coauthor of The Body Has a Mind of Its Own "Natelson superbly incorporates research studies, clinical trials (even on drugs in development), and patient case reports in this book. If you are battling pain and fatigue symptoms but your tests are all normal, you will enjoy reading Natelson's pro-patient approach to explaining the real nature of your illness, his recommended treatment approaches, and how to cope with everything that is going on in your life." --Kristin Thorson, editor of the Fibromyalgia Network and President of the American Fibromyalgia Syndrome Association

Cover Art
Microbiology the Easy Way - Rene Kratz; Barron's Educational Series, Inc Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780764128455
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
This book transforms a difficult subject into terms and ideas that every attentive student can readily understand. Major topics covered include: the microbial world, cellular chemistry, observing microbes through a microscope, microbial growth and reproduction, microbial genetics, bacteria, archaea, eukaryotic microorganisms such as fungi and protozoa, viruses, the disease process, epidemiology, antimicrobial drugs, practical applications of immunology, infectious diseases, and many others. The book includes charts, tables, and review questions with answers. Barron'sEasy Waybooks introduce a variety of academic and practical subjects to students and general readers in clear, understandable language. Ideal as self-teaching manuals for readers interested in learning a new career-related skill, these books have also found widespread classroom use as supplementary texts and brush-up test-preparation guides. Subject heads and key phrases that need to be learned are set in a second color.

Cover Art
Understanding New, Resurgent, and Resistant Diseases - Kurt Link
ISBN: 9780275991265
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
"Although medicine and sanitation in modernized countries are more advanced than ever, over the past three decades we have seen the emergence of some 30 new diseases, such as HIV, SARS, and Ebola. Lyme Disease, hepatitis C, Legionnaires' Disease, and even Jacob-Creutzfeld, the human form of a disorder we know as "Mad Cow," have made headlines. We are also facing a resurgence of diseases once thought nearly eradicated, including tuberculosis and smallpox, and the persistence of rare disorders such as leprosy. In this work, Dr. Link explains the extent of new, resurgent, and resistant diseases defying the abilities of science and medicine or finding strength in globalization or other facets of modernization."--BOOK JACKET.

General Medical Reference Websites

Anatomy Websites

Medical Statistics Websites

  • America's Health Rankings
    An annual ranking of numerous factors that affect the health of the nation on a state-by-state basis.
  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
    The mission of the CDC is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
  • National Center for Health Statistics
    The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. The NCHS is a division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
  • StateHeatlhFacts.org
    Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics. The data are based on an analysis of the Census Bureau’s March Current Population Surveys and are restricted to the civilian (not active duty military) population. The state data represent 2-year averages.
  • The Commonwealth Fund
    The Commonwealth Fund is an organization that supports independent research on health care issues. Its International Health Policy Center surveys the health policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries.
  • Global Health Observatory
    Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. The aim of the GHO portal is to provide easy access to country data and statistics with a focus on comparable estimates and to WHO’s analyses that monitor global, regional and country situation and trends.
  • National Health Policy Forum
    Its mission is to educate Congress, its support agencies, and the executive branch of the federal government in order to improve the policymaking process on the nation's critical health issues
  • World Health Organization
    the Worls Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Key Subject Databases in the Online Library

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students please login through the student portal at: http://mybrownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

  • Cochrane Library
    A collection of databases containing evidence-based information, including systematic reviews.
 

Nursing Program Director

Jo Thompson

Email: jethompson@brownmackie.edu

Phone: 859-486-2576

Professional Websites

  • American Academy of Nursing
    The AAN serves the public and nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generaton, syntheses, and dissemniation of nursing knowledge.
  • American Assembly for Men in Nursing
    The purpose of AAMN is to provide a framework for nurses, as a group, to meet, to discuss and influence factors, which affect men as nurses.
  • American Nurses Association
    The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
  • Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses
    The mission of the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is to improve and promote the health of women and newborns and to strengthen the nursing profession through the delivery of superior advocacy, research, education and other professional and clinical resources to nurses and other health care professional.
  • Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
    AORN provides nursing education, standards, and clinical practice resources to enable optimal outcomes for patients undergoing operative and other invasive procedures. They define and advance best nursing practices for surgical patients by researching and distributing scientifically based recommendations.
  • International Council of Nurses (ICN)
    The International Council of Nurses (ICN) is a federation of more than 130 national nurses associations (NNAs). ICN works to ensure quality nursing care for all, sound health policies globally, the advancement of nursing knowledge, and the presence worldwide of a respected nursing profession and a competent and satisfied nursing workforce.
  • Minority Nurse
    We provide resources and information pertaining to education, career development, and minority health for the ever increasing number of minority nurses in America.
  • National Association fro Practical Nurse Education and Service
    NAPNES advocates the practice, education and regulation of practical and vocational nurses.
Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip