This is the "Surgical Technology" page of the "BMC - Northern Kentucky - Surgical Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BMC - Northern Kentucky - Surgical Technology  

A guide to library and online information resources targeted for the Surgical Technology Program
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/content.php?pid=457701 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Surgical Technology Print Page
  Search: 
 

BMC Northern KY Information Resources

For Off-Campus Access:

Students please login through the student portal at: http://my.brownmackie.edu

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

 

Check This Out!

Cover Art
The Making of Mr. Gray's Anatomy - Ruth Richardson
ISBN: 9780199552993
Publication Date: 2008-12-15
Gray's Anatomy is probably one of the most iconic scientific books ever published: an illustrated textbook of anatomy that is still a household name 150 years since its first edition, known for its rigorously scientific text, and masterful illustrations as beautiful as they are detailed.The Making of Mr Gray's Anatomy tells the story of the creation of this remarkable book, and the individuals who made it happen: Henry Gray, the bright and ambitious physiologist, poised for medical fame and fortune, who was the book's author; Carter, the brilliant young illustrator, lacking Gray'ssocial advantages, shy and inclined to religious introspection; and the publishers - Parkers, father and son, the father eager to employ new technology, the son part of a lively circle of intellectuals. It is the story of changing attitudes in the mid-19th century; of the social impact of science,the changing status of medicine; of poverty and class; of craftsmanship and technology. And it all unfolds in the atmospheric milieu of Victorian London - taking the reader from the smart townhouses of Belgravia, to the dissection room of St George's Hospital, and to the workhouses and mortuarieswhere we meet the friendless poor who would ultimately be immortalised in Carter's engravings. Alongside the story of the making of the book itself, Ruth Richardson reflects on what made iGray's Anatomy/i such a unique intellectual, artistic, and cultural achievement - how it represented a summation of a long half century's blossoming of anatomical knowledge and exploration, and how itappeared just at the right time to become the 'Doctor's Bible' for generations of medics to follow.

Cover Art
Surgical Care Made Incredibly Visual! - Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff (Created by); Springhouse Publishing Company Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9781582559469
Publication Date: 2006-05-31
Building on and strengthening the award-winning Incredibly Easy Seriesr features, Surgical Care Made Incredibly Visual offers an innovative visual approach to mastering perioperative nursing. Hundreds of detailed and colorful photographs, diagrams, charts, and other visual aids guide nurses through each task in surgical care, including perianesthesia management, infection control, wound care, and nursing interventions for specific surgical procedures. Colored text highlights crucial information, and lighthearted logos reinforce key points. Come Equipped displays photographs or illustrations of equipment. Op Sight presents photographs or illustrations of surgical procedures. Post-Op Pitfall describes common complications of selected surgical procedures. Memory Board features visual mnemonics. "Vision Quest" puzzles test readers' knowledge in an entertaining way.

Cover Art
Neurosurgical Intensive Care - Javed Siddiqi
ISBN: 9783131419118
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
This unique book presents an authoritative guide to the medical and surgical management of complex neurosurgical problems encountered in the critical care setting. Neurosurgical Intensive Care provides straightforward summaries of each stage of patient care, guiding the reader through initial assessment, including ordering the appropriate lab work, triage procedures, such as how to manage patients with multisystem injuries, and sedation and pain management. The book also covers important nursing and medical-legal issues related to neurosurgical intensive care. Features: Guidance on how to manage systemic complications, diseases, and infections, Practical review of concepts in neuropharmacology and nutrition, and procedures for fluid management and ventilator management, Select case examples throughout the book that supplement discussion of the decision-making process, Recommendations for communicating with and caring for the families of neurosurgical intensive care unit patients. This comprehensive book provides a wealth of information that is essential for neurosurgeons, intensive care unit nurses, house staff, nurse practitioners, physicians' assistants, residents at all levels, and medical students. Book jacket.

General Medical Reference Websites

Anatomy Websites

Medical Statistics Websites

  • America's Health Rankings
    An annual ranking of numerous factors that affect the health of the nation on a state-by-state basis.
  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
    The mission of the CDC is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
  • National Center for Health Statistics
    The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. The NCHS is a division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
  • StateHeatlhFacts.org
    Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 700 health topics. The data are based on an analysis of the Census Bureau’s March Current Population Surveys and are restricted to the civilian (not active duty military) population. The state data represent 2-year averages.
  • The Commonwealth Fund
    The Commonwealth Fund is an organization that supports independent research on health care issues. Its International Health Policy Center surveys the health policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries.
  • Global Health Observatory
    Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. The aim of the GHO portal is to provide easy access to country data and statistics with a focus on comparable estimates and to WHO’s analyses that monitor global, regional and country situation and trends.
  • National Health Policy Forum
    Its mission is to educate Congress, its support agencies, and the executive branch of the federal government in order to improve the policymaking process on the nation's critical health issues
  • World Health Organization
    the Worls Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Surg Tech Specific Websites

  • Videos of Surgical Procedures
    MedlinePlus page provides links to prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States since 2004. The videos last an hour.

Key Subject Databases in the Online Library

For Off-Campus Access:

Faculty Members please login at: https://onlinelibrary.brownmackie.edu

Students please login through the student portal at: http://mybrownmackie.edu

For On-Campus Access:

  • Cochrane Library
    A collection of databases containing evidence-based information, including systematic reviews.
 

Surgical Technology Chair

Diana Holter

Email: dholter@brownmackie.edu

Phone: 859-486-2543

Professional Websites

  • Association of Surgical Technologists  
      
    As the oldest and most widely recognized professional organization for surgical technologists and surgical assistants, AST's primary purpose is to ensure that surgical technologists and surgical assistants have the knowledge and skills to administer patient care of the highest quality.
  • National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting
    The purpose of NBSTSA is to determine, through examination, if an individual has acquired both theoretical and practical knowledge of surgical technology or surgical first assisting.
Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip