This is the "Home" page of the "Composition I & II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Composition I & II  

Course guide for Composition I (EN1101/COM1101) and Composition II (EN1102/COM1102)
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/composition Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 

Here are some keywords to get you started:

citation
grammar
plagiarism
style manuals

business writing
legal writing
report writing
research writing, etc.

 

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

 

EBSCOHost Databases for Composition

A-Z Online Journal Titles--Use this tool to browse the list of journals available in our online collections or to locate a specific journal title in our databases.

Academic Search Complete--Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present.  Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies. 

Biography Reference Center--Contains top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines including Biography Today and Biography.  Provides coverage of more than 600,000 individuals with over 2.2 million records.   Narrative profiles average 3,000 words in length.  Includes 35,000 images.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)-Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more.  Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

eBook Community College Collection (EBSCO)- Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges.  The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

 Education Source--This database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.  The file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and includes an international array of periodicals, full-text books and more.  It covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

ERIC--The Education Information Resource Center provides access to educational literature and resources.  The resource contains more than a million records and links to thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

GreenFILE--Full-text access to more than 9,100 records connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.  Popular topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Humanities Source--Considered a humanities super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson.  This resource provides 1,400 full-text journals as well as interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more.  Subject coverage in this resource includes: archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and others. 

Literary Reference Center Plus--Fulfills literary needs with over 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, 89,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 258,000 author biographies, 774,500 book reviews, 113,800 classic and contemporary poems, 27,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 8,800 author interviews, 2,700 literary reference books, 900 literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos pertaining to classic works and authors. 

Mental Measurements with Full Text--Guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments related to psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Newspaper Source--Provides cover-to-cover full text of more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers.  Added bonus of selective full text from more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers as well. 

OmniFile Full Text MEGA--Formerly a Wilson database, this resource is more robust than the previous subscribed OmniFile Full Text Select, with over 3,100 full-text publications dating to 1994 and over 500 podcasts and videos on a range of art, humanities, and science subjects.  Covers core subjects including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology. 

Points of View Reference Center--Presents topic overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument) for topics including abortion, censorship, global issues, human rights, medicine and ethics, national debate topics, substance abuse, war and peace, and more.  Offers 1,300 main essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.  Provides Guide to Critical Analysis to aid in evaluation. 

 

Websites

 

Disclaimer

Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

 

"How To"s for Individual Databases

 

Available in the Library

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2009
ISBN: 9781433805615

Cover Art
Schaum's Easy Outline of Writing and Grammar, Second Edition
Call Number: PE1408 .S666 2010
ISBN: 9780071760577

Cover Art
Vocabulary and Spelling Success in 20 Minutes a Day
Call Number: PE1449 .V58 2009
ISBN: 9781576856833

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip