This is the "Home" page of the "Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/art Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library Catalog

 BMC Tucson Library Catalog


Search the Library Catalog to find books and DVDs available in the Library. 
 

How Tos for Individual Databases

Videos

  • Art21: PBS Video
    Art21 produces features focusing exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists throughout the world
 

BMC Resources

BMC Resources Student Technology Resources Provides everything you need to get started with Brown Mackie College Technology.  Find out about available online resources, get help setting up your accounts, find out how to get your eTextbooks, and much more . . .

 

Art-Based Databases

A-Z of Online of Online Journal Titles--Use this tool to browse the list of journals available in our online collections or to locate a specific journal title in our databases.

Literati by Credo Reference--An interdisciplinary reference database that covers multiple topics.

EBSCOHost Databases--Logon to your student portal for access to these databases.

Academic Search Complete--Multi-disciplinary database featuring full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more from over 9,100 publications (over 86% peer-reviewed/scholarly) with coverage from 1887 to present.  Presents broad global coverage of subject areas including business and economics, health and medicine, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law, and women's studies. 

AP Images--Provides access to over 12 million photographs dating to 1826.  Also contains approximately 36,000 sound bits and a professionally produced collection of more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, and illustrations.

Art Source--Considered an art super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson.  This resource provides 630 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and over 63,000 images.  This resource includes international coverage, art reproduction records, and museum podcasts on artists and works of art. 

Associates Programs Source Plus--Designed for the research needs of two-year colleges and relevant associates programs with 2,000 full-text journals and 350 full-text books covering programs including culinary arts, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, photography, and more.

eBook Academic Collection--Full-text access to over 113,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  Subject areas covered by this collection include art, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology, and more.  Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

eBook Community College Collection--Full-text access to over 48,000 electronic books with unlimited user access.  This multidisciplinary collection is focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges.  The information available in this collection varies from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study. Allows for user download to personal computer/mobile systems.  Users can create personalized bookshelves, highlight books, and add notes and bookmarks. 

Humanities Source--Considered a humanities super-database, combining content from EBSCO and its recently acquired Wilson.  This resource provides 1,400 full-text journals as well as interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and more.  Subject coverage in this resource includes: archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and others. 

OmniFile Full Text MEGA--Formerly a Wilson database, this resource is more robust than the previous subscribed OmniFile Full Text Select, with over 3,100 full-text publications dating to 1994 and over 500 podcasts and videos on a range of art, humanities, and science subjects.  Covers core subjects including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology. 

Points of View Reference Center--Presents topic overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument) for topics including abortion, censorship, global issues, human rights, medicine and ethics, national debate topics, substance abuse, war and peace, and more.  Offers 1,300 main essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.  Provides Guide to Critical Analysis to aid in evaluation. 

Websites

 

Disclaimer

Brown Mackie College-Tucson is not responsible for the content or accuracy of any Web site linked to this Web site/newsletter.  The links are provided for your information and convenience only.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson does not endorse, support or sponsor the content of any linked Web sites.  If you access or use any third party Web sites linked to Brown Mackie College-Tucson's Web site, you do so at your own risk.  Brown Mackie College-Tucson makes no representation or warranty that any other Web site is free from viruses, worms or other software that may have a destructive nature.

 

Available in the Library

Cover Art
Critical Terms for Art History - Robert S. Nelson (Editor); Richard Schiff
Call Number: Literati by Credo eBook
ISBN: 9780226571690
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
Art history as a field has kept pace with debates over globalization and other social and political issues in recent years, making a second edition of this book not just timely, but crucial. Like its predecessor, this new edition consists of essays that cover a wide variety of "loaded" terms in the history of art, from sign to meaning, ritual to commodity. Each essay explains and comments on a single term, discussing the issues the term raises and putting the term into practice as an interpretive framework for a specific work of art.

Cover Art
Avant-Garde and After - Brandon Taylor
Call Number: N6490 .T365 1995
ISBN: 0810927071
Publication Date: 1995-09-30

Cover Art
Da Vinci for Dummies® - Tracy Barr; Jessica Teisch
Call Number: N6923 .L33 T445 2005
ISBN: 0764578375
Publication Date: 2005-03-25
The fun and easy way to understand his work, his methods, and his mind Thanks to the phenomenal success of the bestselling The Da Vinci Code, interest in this famed Renaissance artist has never been higher. This friendly guide provides an easy-to-follow introduction to da Vinci's life and works, including the story behind celebrated paintings such as the Mona Lisa and The Last Supper, the lowdown on his inventions, which include the helicopter and bicycle, and plain-English explanations of his groundbreaking scientific work in anatomy, zoology, botany, geology, optics, aerodynamics, and hydrodynamics. The book also discusses his famed notebooks, his relationship to the Catholic Church, and the factual basis of The Da Vinci Code.

Discovering Art History - Gerald F. Brommer
Call Number: N5308 .B73 1988
ISBN: 9780871921901
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A textbook covering the world and work of the artist, trends and influences in world art, and art in the western world.

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip