Architectural Design and DraftingBusiness AdministrationBusiness ManagementCriminal JusticeHealthcare AdministrationHealthcare ManagementInformation TechnologyMedical AssistingSurgical TechnologyVeterinary TechnologyOccupational Therapy AssistantNursing
Helpful ResourcesCurriculum ResourcesOT Professional OrganizationsOTA Volunteer OpportunitiesFieldwork Sites and FormsClinical Educators' ResourcesCareer Services & Employment InformationECollege
This is the "Home" page of the "Brown Mackie College- Albuquerque" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brown Mackie College- Albuquerque  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.brownmackie.edu/alb Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Information

Library Hours
 
Monday, Tuesday & Thursday
8:30am to 10:00pm
 
Wednesday
8:30am to 5:00pm
 
Friday
8:30am to 4:30pm
 

Library Staff

Josh Pals
Library Assistant
 
 
Brown Mackie College-Albuquerque
10500 Copper Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87123
(505) 559-5220
 

Online Library Workshops

These LIVE workshops hosted by Brown Mackie College's Ask Today On Call Librarian Service are available to all students, faculty, & staff. All workshops are 45-60 minutes long. Receive a certificate of completion after attending a LIVE workshop.

 

Questions, Suggestions, or Recommendations?

Have any questions or suggestions regarding the Library Guides website? 

The Library also welcomes your recommendation of books, journals, and DVDs to add to the collection. 

 

Welcome to the Library

Welcome to your

Brown Mackie College Albuquerque Library

Have questions?  Email or call us for assistance.
We look forward to helping you with your research needs!

 

 

Research Links

Book Catalog  This link does not require any password.

EBSCO Databases can be accessed through the Student or Faculty Portal (click on link below). Student Portal--click on Library. In both Portals, go to Find by Resource, All Resources, All EBSCOhost Research Databases. Choose Academic Search Complete or choose any (or many!) of the listed databases.

If you need assistance with the book catalog or EBSCO, please ask the library staff.

Student Portal  This link is for STUDENTS only and requires a STUDENT username and ID. Your student portal gives you access to your course information, schedules, grades, financial services information, student email, and library resources.

Faculty Portal  This link is for FACULTY only and requires a FACULTY member's username and ID. The content is the same as the Library page in the student portal.

Libros   The online catalog of the state college and university libraries in New Mexico including University of New Mexico (UNM) and Central New Mexico Community College (CNM). To use the books, you will need to go to the respective libraries.

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Library System  Access the public library catalog here. You will need a library card to access most databases, but you can perform a catalog search without a special login.

brainfuse HelpNow - Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Library System   Tutors available daily from 2:00-11:00 pm. Get live help with homework and assignments. Also find live skill building and a library of lessons, videos, tests, & more.

New Mexico State Library - El Portal  - El Portal is your doorway to a world of information - for elementary school through college. Powered by Gale's Power Search, you can search for magazines, books, newspapers, & more. Includes: brainfuse, newspapers, Chilton Library, Gale Virtual Reference Library, & Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

 

Doing Research & Citing Your Sources APA Style

Use of scholarly sources and APA format citations are THE standard at Brown Mackie College. Here are some online guides.

APA Citation Maker   This link is from the Oregon School Library Information System. Easily create APA citations and transfer citations to a Reference List in a Microsoft Word document.

APA 6th Edition - SCU Referencing Guide  This link is from Southern Cross University. Provides general and specific information about APA style. You can find specifics on APA citations and references by using the tabs at the top of the page.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References 6thedition: Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style.”

STUDENTS & FACULTY may download or print a copy for your own use!  This 35 page guide is available as a PDF through the student/faculty portal in the Online Library by accessing:

Services & Policies > Help & Tutorials:  Scroll down to Other Printable Guides.  Click on APA Style Guide to Electronic References 6th edition  OR   Citation/Research Managers > APA Format. Scroll down to the bottom of the page. Click on APA Style Guide to Electronic References 6th edition

OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab  This link is gives you general APA information, specifics on style, formatting, citations, and reference lists. You can search for specific types of citations and references from the home page.

Basics of APA Style  This link is a tutorial from the American Psychological Association.

Writing Assistance    Get tips on determining the academic quality of a website (whether or not it's OK to use), hints on APA citations, how to write in an academic manner using good grammar and style, and how to avoid plagiarism. Also contains PODCASTS with PowerPoints and PDFs on how to organize your research and your paper. 

 Links to printable instructions and forms for creating citations and reference lists (and some other things) are found here:

 

FEATURED DATABASE

LearningExpress Library

THE TOOLS FOR SUCCESS ARE WAITING FOR YOU!   

Access to tutorials and practice tests in: math, reading, writing, computer and internet skills, popular software applications. Also find the Job & Career Accelerator with information on resumes and cover letters, an occupation matcher and job search. Take advantage of over 200 free downloadable eBooks.

TO ACCESS:

Use your Student Portal or Faculty Portal to access LearningExpress Library:

ON THE STUDENT PORTAL ONLY: Click on Library (right side of page under Student Services)

FOR BOTH THE STUDENT AND FACULTY PORTALS, continue with the following:

  • Click on Find by Resource
  • Click on All Resources
  • Scroll down page to LearningExpress Library

 

eBook Collections

Need a book for your next assignment?

eBook Collections

in EBSCOhost

Find full text books in all subject areas.

To access:

  • Log on to the Student Portal
  • Click on Library
  • Go to Find by Resource and click on Books & More
  • Click on eBooks (EBSCO)
  • The eBook collection page will open

You are ready to start your search!

 

EBSCOhost Guides

Instructional (and printable) guides for EBSCOhost services available through the Student and Faculty portals. Learn how to use these valuable resources.

Privacy and Cookies Policy
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip